Sunday, October 31, 2021

Anglo-Dutch Treaty in 1824

The signing of the Anglo-Dutch Treaty (also known as the Treaty of London) between Great Britain and the Netherlands in London on 17 March 1824 was primarily a settlement of a long period of territorial and trade disputes between the two countries in Southeast Asia. The treaty was signed by the United Kingdom and the Netherlands in London on 13 August 1814.

The treaty holds that subjects of the two nations are permitted to trade in territories of British India,Ceylon and modern-day Indonesia and Malaysia, on the basis of "most favoured nation", but they must obey local regulations.

The Anglo-Dutch Treaty of 1824 redefined the spheres of influence of these two colonial powers in the region and officially demarcated two territories: Malaya, which was ruled by the United Kingdom, and the Dutch East Indies, which was ruled by the Netherlands.

The treaty had three provisions: territorial, commercial, and financial. Under the territorial clauses, the Netherlands ceded all its factories in India to Britain, withdrew all objections to the British occupation of Singapore, and ceded Melaka (Malacca) and all its dependencies to Britain.

In return, the Britain cedes its factory of Fort Marlborough in Bencoolen and all its property on the island of Sumatra to the Netherlands and will not establish another office on the island or make any treaty with its rulers.
Anglo-Dutch Treaty in 1824

The most popular articles